Congratulations to Aging Cell Best Paper Prize Authors!

Sep 23, 2016

At its meeting on 5th May, Council received the nomination for “Best Paper Prize for 2015” from the Editors in Chief of Aging Cell. The best paper is voted for by the members of the Editorial Board who make their recommendations to the EiC’s. The winners are Steve Horvath, Paolo Garagnani, Maria Giulia Bacalini, Chiara Pirazzini, Stefano Salvioli, Davide Gentilini, Anna Maria Di Blasio, Cristina Giuliani, Spencer Tung, Harry V. Vinters and Claudio Franceschi for their paper entitled “Accelerated epigenetic aging in Down syndrome” (Aging Cell; 14: 491-495

The runners-up were Monika Oláhová and Elizabeth A. Veal for their paper “A peroxiredoxin, PRDX-2, is required for insulin secretion and insulin/IIS-dependent regulation of stress resistance and longevity” (Aging Cell; 14: 558-568) and Yi Zhu, Tamara Tchkonia, Tamar Pirtskhalava, Adam C. Gower, Husheng Ding, Nino Giorgadze, Allyson K. Palmer, Yuji Ikeno, Gene B. Hubbard, Marc Lenburg, Steven P. O'Hara, Nicholas F. LaRusso, Jordan D. Miller, Carolyn M. Roos, Grace C. Verzosa, Nathan K. LeBrasseur, Jonathan D. Wren, Joshua N. Farr, Sundeep Khosla, Michael B. Stout, Sara J. McGowan, Heike Fuhrmann-Stroissnigg, Aditi U. Gurkar, Jing Zhao, Debora Colangelo, Akaitz Dorronsoro, Yuan Yuan Ling, Amira S. Barghouthy, Diana C. Navarro, Tokio Sano, Paul D. Robbins, Laura J. Niedernhofer and James L. Kirkland for “The Achilles’ heel of senescent cells: from transcriptome to senolytic drugs” (Aging Cell; 14: 644–658)

We look forward to Dr Steve Horvath presenting the Aging Cell Best Paper lecture at the Anatomical Society Winter Meeting, December 2016 at King’s College (Guy’s Campus) London.