Congratulations to Journal of Anatomy Best Paper Prize Authors!

May 26, 2016

At its meeting on 5th May, Council received the nomination for “Best Paper Prize for 2015” from the Editors in Chief of Journal of Anatomy. The best paper is voted for by the receiving Editors who make their recommendations to the EiC’s. The winners are Sophia E. Akbareian, Andrew A. Pitsillides,  Raymond G. Macharia and Imelda M. McGonnell for their paper entitled “Occipital foramina development involves localised regulation of mesenchyme proliferation and is independent of apoptosis”(Journal of Anatomy;  226: 560-574).  We are delighted that the first author, Sophia Akbareian, is an Anatomical Society funded PhD student.  The runners-up were Alexandra C. Smith, Stephen J. Fleenor and Jo Begbie for their paper “Changes in gene expression and cell shape characterise stages of epibranchial placode-derived neuron maturation in the chick” (Journal of Anatomy; 227:  89–102) and this manuscript is also the result of an  AS studentship funded by the Society.  Rui Diogo, Sean Walsh, Christopher Smith, Janine M. Ziermann and Virginia Abdala were also runners-up for their paper “Towards the resolution of a long-standing evolutionary question: muscle identity and attachments are mainly related to topological position and not to primordium or homeotic identity of digits” (Journal of Anatomy , 226:  523–529). Dr Diogo won the prize for Best Paper for 2013 and presented his work at the Winter Meeting of the Society in Birmingham in 2014. We look forward to Sophia presenting the winning paper at our 2016 Winter Meeting in London and hope that you can join us there.(Message from Adam Taylor - Deputy Secretary of AS)