Governance of the Anatomical Society

1. 2009/10

In 2009/10 the Committee of  Management, Governance Working Party and Council of the Anatomical Society undertook a comprehensive review of the Society’s governance structure.  The principal objectives of this review were:

  • To produce an unambiguous, consistent, and modern set of governance documents that incorporate recent changes in charity and company law.
  • To make the most effective use of the Society’s Officers’ time and energy.

 The major outcomes of the review were:

  • New governance documentation: revised Memorandum and Articles of Association and Regulations (previously known as Byelaws).
  • New name: a proposal to change the name from ‘Anatomical Society of Great Britain and Ireland’ to ‘Anatomical Society’
  • Significant restructuring: in future, the business of the Anatomical Society will be undertaken by a single unitary Council that incorporates the functions and responsibilities of the current Committee of Management and Council. Membership of the new Council includes the President, Secretary and Treasurer and the Chairs of several Standing Committees (Education, Research Advisory, Meetings, Website Management, Membership). Significant operational responsibility was placed in the hands of the Chairs and members of the Standing Committees.


The Committee of Management (27th May 2010) and Council (19th July 2010) approved the proposed governance changes which were subsequently formally adopted at an EGM on 20th July 2010. The new name was registered by the Registrar of Companies. The Society’s  new name, revised Memorandum and Articles came into force on the date that the Special Resolution was passed (EGM 20th July 2010) .  The Society’s details have been updated on the Charity Commission Register. The new Council meets up to 6 times a year to ensure the effective strategic and operational management of the Society.

 2. 2011

Council (15th September 2011) approved the revision of Article 4 and Article 8 formally adopted at the AGM on 20th December 2011 which enables the Society to confer Honorary Fellowship and Fellowship of the Society. Council 18.12.11 approved amendments to Regulation 9 Fellowship and approved a new Regulation 17 Quorum.

3. 2012

On 29th March 2012 Council approved the amendment to Regulation 15a on the Terms of Reference of the Standing Committees.

On the 9th July 2012 Council approved amendments to Schedule 2: Clause 2 Symington Bequest; Clause 7 Journal of Anatomy and Aging Cell Best Paper Prize; Clause 12 Society Graduate Research Studentships and Clause 13 Society Seminars and Symposia.

On the 6th September 2012 Council approved amendments to Schedule 2: Clause 6 The Symington Memorial Prize in Anatomy, Clause 8 Anatomical Society Young Investigator Oral Presentation Prize, Clause 9 Cave Young Investigator Poster Prize and Clause 10 Anatomical Society New Fellow of the Year.

On the 18th December 2012 the AGM approved amendments to Articles 26, 28b and 29f.

4. 2013

On 7th February 2013 Council approved the amendments to Regulation 9i Fellowship.

On 3rd July 2013 Council approved the amendments to Regulation 2 re Early Career Membership, Regulation 6 Early Career Membership and Schedule 2, Clause 11 Anatomical Society Prize.

On 19th September 2013 Council approved the amendments to Schedule 2, Clause 6 The Symington Memorial Prize in Anatomy.

5. 2014

On 6th February 2014 Council approved the amendments to Schedule 4: Duties of the Editors-in-Chief of theJournal of AnatomyandAging Cell.

On 1st May 2014 Council approved an amendment to Regulation 9.1(d) Fellow and Schedule 3 Clause 10(a) iii Newsletter Editor.

6. 2015

On 19th November 2015 Council  approved the amendment of Regulations 2, 3a, 4a, 4b, 4c, 5a, 5b, 5d, 6a, 6d, 7a, 7b, 8a, 9.2a, 9.2b and 12 on the Membership of the Society.

7. 2016

On 18th July 2016 Council approved the amendment to Clause 13 Schedule 2 to the Regulations on the Society Seminars and Symposia.

8. 2017

On 30th March 2017 Council approved amendments to Regulations 14c and 15c and Schedule 1 Clause 3 a to g and Schedule 3 Clause 9a. These changes related to a change in title of a committee to Website, Media and Communications Committee.

On 21st September 2017 Council approved in principle the amendment to Regulation 2 regarding Membership of the Society. The final wording was agreed by Councillors by e-mail.

Council (30th March 2017) approved the revision of Article 28b formally adopted at the AGM on 19th December 2017 thus changing 'Website Officer' to 'Website, Media and Communications Officer'.

9. 2018

At an EGM held on 22nd July 2018 members unanimously adopted revised Article 2 (approved 10.05.18 Council) and Article 9 (approved 10.05.18 Council) concerning membership of the Society and revised Article 28b (approved 28.03.18 Council) concerning the election of Officers and Council.

Professor Stefan Przyborski- President

Professor Emeritus Colin Ockleford- Honorary Secretary


Revised Regulations and Schedules.(Regulations and Schedules)

Guidance for Charity Trustees